American Studies

Jolene Hubbs
jhubbs@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Area of Interest: Southern fiction, 1865-present

Michael Innis-Jimenez
ij@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Area of Interest: Southern Latino Studies

Jeffrey Melton
jmelton@ua.edu
Associate Professor
Area of Interest: Mark Twain

Anthropology

Elliot Blair
ehblair@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Southeastern archaeology, the archaeology of colonialism, identity and materiality, social network analysis

Ian Brown
ibrown@ua.edu
Professor
Areas of Interest: Southeastern archaeology, Native Americans during the contact period, gravestones and cemeteries

Art and Art History

Rachel Stephens
rachel@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Jacksonian-era portraiture, Civil War visual culture, antebellum art and architecture

Communication Studies

Robin Boylorn
rboylorn@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Lived and storied experiences of southern rural black women, social identity and social justice issues, interpersonal communication

English

Lauren Cardon
lscardon@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Ethnic American literature, twentieth century and contemporary American and Southern literature, cultural studies

Andy Crank
jacrank@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: representations of class and sexuality in southern literature and culture; working class southern communities; southern cuisine; images of trash/disposability in the South

Catherine Davies
cdavies@ua.edu
Professor
Areas of Interest: Southern discourse and linguistics

Trudier Harris
tharris13@ua.edu
Professor
Areas of Interest: African American literature and folklore; African American writers and the South; lynching; domestic work; narratives of southern identity

Cassander Smith
clsmith17@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: representations of race in early America; narratives of cultural contact in southern/Atlantic spaces

Gender and Race Studies

Hilary Green
hngreen1@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Nineteenth Century African American experience in slavery and freedom, African American memory, post-emancipation African American education in the urban South

Jennifer Jones
jdjones18@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: African American History after 1877, Black sexuality studies

Utz McKnight
utz.mcknight@ua.edu
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Areas of Interest: Critical race theory, political theory, social policy and racial politics

History

Margaret Abruzzo
mabruzzo@ua.edu
Associate Professor
Areas of interest: Southern intellectual history, Debates over slavery

David Beito
dbeito@ua.edu
Professor
Area of Interest: Black history

Lisa Lindquist Dorr
lisa.dorr@ua.edu
Associate Professor and Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Area of Interest: Southern women’s history

Kari Frederickson
kari@ua.edu
Professor
Areas of Interest: Modern South, especially the intersection of politics, economic development, and culture

John Giggie
jmgiggie@ua.edu
Associate Professor and Director of the Summersell Center for the Study of the South
Areas of Interest: African American history, southern religious history

Sharony Green
sagreen1@ua.edu
Asssistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Gender, race, urban history, black-white intimacies, and transnationalism

Heather Miyano Kopelson
heather.m.kopelson@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Race and religion in early America

Joshua Rothman
jrothman@ua.edu
Professor and Department Chair
Areas of Interest: Nineteenth Century South, slavery and race

Jenny Shaw
jenny.shaw@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Atlantic History, early modern Caribbean, race and slavery in the Americas

Journalism

Rick Bragg
rbragg@ua.edu
Professor
Areas of Interest: Nineteenth and twentieth century southern history, working-class and poor southerners, mill workers, Native Americans

Scott Parrott
msparrott@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: media and social psychology

Music

Nikos Pappas
napappas1@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Eighteenth and nineteenth century American musicology, southern sacred and traditional music, gender, race, and culture

New College

Ellen Griffith Spears
egspears@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Southern environmental and civil rights history

Michael Steinberg
mksteinberg@ua.edu
Associate Professor
Area of Interest: Environmental conservation in the South

Political Science

Stephen Borrelli
sborrell@ua.edu
Professor
Area of Interest: Southern politics

Richard Fording
rcfording@ua.edu
Professor
Areas of Interest: Poverty, civil rights, race and politics, southern politics

Religious Studies

K. Merinda Simmons
merinda.simmons@ua.edu
Assistant Professor
Areas of Interest: Religious practice and identity in the American South, Gender Studies, Postcolonial Literature and Theory, Migration Studies

Telecommunication and Film

Andrew Grace
agrace@ua.edu
Director, Documenting Justice
Area of Interest: Documentary film representations of the South

University Libraries

Donnelly Walton
dfwalton@ua.edu
Associate Professor, Archival Access Coordinator at Hoole Special Collections
Areas of Interest: University history; nineteenth-century South; slavery